Monday, April 12, 2010

Newbery Medal Winners (Part 1)

Each year, since 1922, the John Newbery Medal has been awarded to an author for their most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.  This prestigious award is named after John Newbery, an 18th century publisher.

Newbery Medal Winners 1922 -1950

  • 1922: The Story of Mankind by Hendrik Willem van Loon
  • 1923: The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting
  • 1924: The Dark Frigate by Charles Hawes
  • 1925: Tales from Silver Lands by Charles Finger
  • 1926: Shen of the Sea by Arthur Bowie Chrisman
  • 1927: Smoky, the Cowhorse by Will James
  • 1928: Gay Neck, the Story of a Pigeon by Dhan Gopal Mukerji
  • 1929: The Trumpeter of Krakow by Eric P. Kelly
  • 1930: Hitty, Her First Hundred Years by Rachel Field
  • 1931: The Cat Who Went to Heaven by Elizabeth Coatsworth
  • 1932: Waterless Mountain by Laura Adams Armer
  • 1933: Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze by Elizabeth Lewis
  • 1934: Invincible Louisa by Cornelia Meigs
  • 1935: Dobry by Monica Shannon
  • 1936: Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brink
  • 1937: Roller Skates by Ruth Sawyer
  • 1938: The White Stag by Kate Seredy
  • 1939: Thimble Summer by Elizabeth Enright
  • 1940: Daniel Boone by James Daugherty
  • 1941: Call It Courage by Armstrong Sperry
  • 1942: The Matchlock Gun by Walter Edmonds
  • 1943: Adam of the Road by Elizabeth Jane Gray
  • 1944: Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes
  • 1945: Rabbit Hill by Robert Lawson
  • 1946: Strawberry Girl by Lois Lenski
  • 1947: Miss Hickory by Carolyn Sherwin Bailey
  • 1948: The Twenty-One Balloons by William Pene du Bois
  • 1949: King of the Wind by Marguerite Henry
  • 1950: The Door in the Wall by Marguerite de Angeli 


    Karen Cioffi said...

    Very cool; thanks for sharing. I'll be back for the parts 2 and 3.

    Knowing what created such great works is knowledge and seeing how then differ from back when to now is interesting.

    Beverly Stowe McClure said...

    When I was teaching, I had a library of Newbery winners and honor books that the students read and used for their book reports. I haven't read all of them, but the ones I am familiar with are so good. An inspiration to me to improve my writing. Thanks for the reminder.

    Cher Green said...

    Thanks for sharing. I'll be sure to catch the next two parts.

    Susanne Drazic said...

    Thank you all for stopping by.

    I've only read a couple of books from this list. I think I'm going to have to make it a point to try and read more of them.

    Part 2 of the list will be posted Wednesday.

    Penny Ehrenkranz said...

    Susanne, Thanks for sharing this list. All children's writers should peruse some or all of these books to see what makes a really good children's story.

    Susanne Drazic said...

    Hi Penny, thanks for stopping by.


    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...